in this together

God, you know how I like to think in black & white. I like things to be clear. And I like there to be an explanation for everything. With no exceptions. 

And I like boxes. Yes, I like my life in boxes.

Which means there’s a bit of a clash sometimes, between me and you.

I’m guessing you’re not oblivious to that fact.

You see, God, I’ve noticed something about you. I’ve noticed you’re not so much into boxes.

You don’t see my life like I do. There’s no me box, no family box, no church box, no school box, no friends box with you. You don’t see my life in compartments, with some more important, or more holy than others. There are no boxes with you.

It’s all just One.

So you’re not just with me when I give myself to you in worship for a couple of hours on a Sunday morning. I’m not that good at maths, but even I can work out that’s only a very small fraction of my life. And you’re not just with me in those few minutes a day when I’m intentionally sat with you, bible in hand, and offering my prayers.

Robbos08_1

I think you love those times; they are precious to you.

And so are the washing-up times

And the walking-to-school-times

And the meal-times

The DIY-times

The crisis-times

The happy-times

The hopeless-times

The exhilarating-times

The helping-a-stranger times

You want to be in all those times.

God – we’re in Covenant – me and you. Which means we don’t just meet up a couple of times a week for a coffee. We’re in this together. Through thick and thin. Through highs and lows. In sickness and in health. On my best days and my worst. When I get it right and when I balls it up.

We’re in this together. All the time. 

You reminded me of it all this week, when I was reading your word:

12 1-2 So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life—your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life—and place it before God as an offering.

(Romans 12 The MSG)

“Take your everyday, ordinary life – and place it before God as an offering.”

That’s what you want from me; my ordinary everyday life, placed before you as an offering; placed before you, so that you can mould it, shape it, change it, mature it, employ it.

We’re in this together.

Leave a Reply

