Five minute Friday: Hero

Today, I’m participating in Lisa-Jo Baker’s Five Minute Friday. Each Friday Lisa-Jo gives a 5 minute writing prompt. This week the prompt is “Hero”. So here’s my 5 minutes-worth:

Hero

She wasn’t the typical hero.

There was no cape, no loud extraversion, no extraordinary acts of salvation.

But her life made me stop in my tracks.

She became my hero.

Jesus oozed out of every pore of this woman. Love seeped out in unexpected ways.

This hero didn’t point to herself. There was no posturing, no pretension, no jostling. This hero had chosen to lose her life and in doing so had gained a greater life, bigger than her.

This hero’s whole life led me to the greatest Hero.

And through this earthly hero I fell in love again with this greatest Hero.

This all-time-Hero stretched out His arms, nailed to that cross, and uttered those words: “Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they’re doing.”

If ever I’m to be a hero , let me an upside-down, topsy-turvy hero, whose life sings of the greatest Hero.

Just like she did, when she stopped me in my tracks: the unlikely hero.

20140102-192631.jpg

4 thoughts on “Five minute Friday: Hero

  1. What a beautiful tribute, Anna. This writing of this woman makes me think of Ebenezer . . . marking what God did for you. Such grace unwrapped.

    (visiting from Lisa-Jo’s place where your name called at me, quite frankly (and we’re saddled up next to each other), because I feel in my soul hope rise up that we will one day have a daughter named Anna, a name meaning grace.)

    Like

  2. Oh what a lovely hero she was/is. A hero of faith- the best kind indeed.

    I’ve got a friend who is just like that. Who breathes Truth with almost every breath she takes and inspires me to fall in love with Him every time she speaks.

    Like

    • Thank you – yes she really is the best kind of hero- not always recognised by the world – but a true hero nevertheless. Abiding in Jesus is the only way to seep out Him in the way that she did. So much of the time we work from the outside in, but a life that truly reflects Jesus is always a reflection of the internal heart relationship with Jesus. Thanks for taking the time to read, and to comment. Love Anna

      Like

Leave a Reply

