Reflecting on 2013

I’m still struggling to believe that 2013 is drawing to a close. But the dates don’t lie so it’s time to face reality and reflect on the year gone and look ahead to the year coming. My wordpress annual review landed in my mailbox this morning giving me a summary of all the activity on the blog. One of the great things about writing a blog is that it gives a quick overview of life events, thoughts and musings throughout the year.

If I had to pick one singular highlight of the year it would be our family trip to India which I started blogging about here. But 2013 has been full of highlights and lowlights, many of which have not been blogged. I started the year with this post, 2013: One Life – which was a call to live the life we’re all each individually called to live, free of striving and comparison. I took this One Life mentality throughout the year and consequently 2013 has been one of focus. Various events and circumstances have focussed the lens for me this year, so that I end the year sharper and living out more of who I’m called to be (and just as importantly) who I’m not.

It’s interesting that my most-read post of the year corresponds with my most learnt-lesson of the year: There’s always a choice. Let’s face it, life rarely turns out how we’d expect. Life brings greater disappointments and greater triumphs than we can ever imagine. But what’s going on in our hearts and the way we choose to respond to what life throws at us will define more of our life than we can imagine. We can only effectively do this by continually looking to Jesus whilst being cheered on by those who love us and to whom we’re accountable.

So, I just wanted to say Happy Reflecting to those of you who are also reflecting on 2013. What are some of your key reflections for 2013 – I’d love to hear them in the comments section below.

My top 5 most-read posts of 2013:

1. There’s always a choice
2  where I realise that reputation is rather like soap
3  is your mission sexy enough?
4  what if we allowed our kids to be a channel rather than an obstacle?
5 8 ways to stay sane when your husband goes away and leaves you with three tinies

And my most popular 3dm Europe post:

How do introverts thrive not just survive oikos living

4 thoughts on “Reflecting on 2013

  1. Thank you so much for all that you do and for being someone (and for being a family) that lives out what you talk/write about. I value it a lot and I always learn from all of you – the blog writings and what I observe when I bump into you guys!

    Like

Leave a Reply

