What Abraham didn’t say

As a family we’ve been reading the story of Abraham and Isaac. It always causes a bit of a stir in our household.   “Why would God ask Abraham to sacrifice his son?”  “What if God hadn’t told him to stop?”

I grew up reading this story, it’s a bit over-familiar to me. But I’m re-reading it now with fresh perspective, I’m reading it with “parent eyes”.  You know, it was actually quite a big deal that God would ask Abraham to give up His son.

A few things strike me about the story.

Abraham didn’t say “God, how can you say that? If you really loved me you wouldn’t ask me to do that.” In the garden of Eden, the snake whispered into the heart of Adam and Eve that God didn’t really love them. Adam and Eve chose to believe the lie of Satan. But Abraham chose to believe the truth of God. He chose not to doubt but to believe in the truth, goodness and love of God.

Abraham didn’t say “Hang on a minute God, you’ve promised that I’ll be the father of many nations, that my descendants will come from Isaac.  God, how do you think that will happen if I kill Isaac – are you out of your mind?”

Abrahams faith response is staggering. In Hebrews 11 it says that

He who had embraced the promises was about to sacrifice his one and only son, 18 even though God had said to him, “It is through Isaac that your offspring will be reckoned.”[c] 19 Abraham reasoned that God could even raise the dead, and so in a manner of speaking he did receive Isaac back from death.

Did you see  that? Such was Abraham’s faith that he “reasoned that God could even raise the dead.” Here is old-covenant-pre- God-incarnate  Abraham  knowing  the character of God well enough to believe that He would work it all out. Abraham chose to take Him at His word. He chose to believe that God had made a promise and that He would stick to it, by whatever means God chose.

That challenges me. I have the spirit of God living in me. I live in the victory won for me on the cross. And yet,  put in the same place as Abraham, would my response be so unwavering?

Often, faith doesn’t make sense. Faith doesn’t begin with our logic, it doesn’t begin with what we can see. Faith begins by taking God at His word. It begins with who God is, not who I am. By faith, we see the world called into existence by God’s word, what we see created by what we don’t see.

When we are at the end of ourselves, when we know a situation is impossible, when we recognise our complete and utter dependence on God, that is when faith is birthed.

Without uncertainty, faith is unnecessary. Uncertainty is the birthing room of faith.

                                                                                              (Seth Barnes)

So where is your place of uncertainty?

Where do you need to take God at his word, and stand on it?

Where do you need to be obedient to the word that He has spoken to you?

posted by Anna

3 thoughts on “What Abraham didn’t say

  1. Anna, you hit the spot yet again. I’ve been studying Abraham – or rather what Paul says about him in Romans. Abraham chose to believe, even though his circumstances didn’t appear to match up to what God was saying – that he would be the father of many nations even though his body ‘was as good as dead’. He knew God was bigger than his circumstances, and chose to behave based on that belief. I know God provides for us, and I know that He is not in recession, so I must choose to believe a buyer will come along for our house so we can move, as I am convinced God has told us, to the heart of our MC.

    Like

Leave a Reply

