a day I’d rather not remember

My throat hurts today.

It’s not because I have a cold.

My head also hurts. And my heart.

I really hate to admit it but today I have not enjoyed being with my kids. I know…. I have previously written about savouring every moment with my kids.

But today..  I would rather just forget.

 
My throat hurts from yelling at them.

My head hurts from the tension of constantly disciplining and breaking up sibling scraps.

And my heart hurts because I know I haven’t really gone about it all in quite the right way.

Summer holidays. I have a love/hate relationship with them. It’s great not to be in the routine of the school-run but filling 12 hours of a day with 3 super-energy-charged-kids is just, well, HARD WORK.

And today has been harder than most.

But fortunately for me parenting isn’t just about individual days. It’s about lots of days. Lots and lots of them. Good and bad. It’s about keeping on loving our kids even when they’re not very loveable. It’s about consistently choosing to discipline when to let them loose would be an easier option.

And it’s about knowing that each day is a new start.

22 The faithful love of the Lord never ends![b]
      His mercies never cease.
 23 Great is his faithfulness;
      his mercies begin afresh each morning.

                                                                 Lamentations 3:22-23

The funny thing about all this is the photos from today tell a different story. There were some great moments today. I think the kids will remember today as a fun day.

And I think in time, so will I.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

posted by Anna

2 thoughts on “a day I’d rather not remember

  1. Thank you for this. It is so helpful cos I can completely identify with you and its hard to remember anything but how rubbish I feel when not having a good day. This is so perfectly worded and true. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

