spoilt?

My friend was recounting a conversation with her son where he had asked her what it meant to be spoilt. My friend replied to him by saying “you have lots of things but you don’t really appreciate what you’ve got.”

It made me realise how easy it is to become “spoilt”. Do I always appreciate what I have?

We have just finished an annual “visitors week” at  our church where we give visitors the opportunity  to receive teaching on key principles and values particularly on building a discipleship culture  and planting missional communities.

On Thursday I was sat in one of the sessions where returning visitors were recounting the impact that “visitors week” had on them in previous years and how they had implemented what they had learnt and observed from our church. I was so moved by the testimonies these leaders gave as they spoke of how thankful they were for a relatively small investment from our church. It made me think how easy it is to become spoilt with what God has given us; to take for granted the church that we are part of and all that God has done.

Our church has made many, many mistakes but we have also learnt lots along the way, and seen God do some amazing things. It’s so easy to forget that. Two ways to combat being spoilt is to be thankful for what God has done and to be generous with what we’ve been given.

God is always at work in our lives and I want to be  thankful for,  and generous with, what he gives me.

posted by Anna

Leave a Reply

