greener grass

20110604-160952.jpg        20110604-160944.jpg

A recent skype message with a really good friend in Sudan read as follows:

[13:04:24] Anna Robinson: hey how you doing? xx

[13:05:37] Lynne K: Hi love, I am good, in the field at the mo, nearish to the Abyei border responding to this mass displacement of people

 How are you doing?

[13:09:11] Anna Robinson: erm i’m fine, sat at my dining table on my computer.. doesn’t quite compare to your one-liner!!!!

It got me thinking about how important it is to take hold of every opportunity before us. Now, this really isn’t a new line of thinking for me. Anyone who knows about 2% of me knows that my biggest challenge is to live in the moment rather than thinking I should be somewhere else, doing something else.

Living in the moment is something I engage with as a discipline. And I certainly don’t always succeed in. We all have dreams and aspirations and I’m not short of those . But what I do in the day-to-day and taking what might seem like the incy-wincy steps towards my dreams and to what I’m called to be is what really makes the difference. The day-to-day isn’t always exciting or glamorous. Usually it’s the complete opposite, as later in the skype conversation showed:

[13:15:56] Lynne K: and I realise it sounds all exciting but the reality is that its hot and tiring and I spend a lot of time fiddling with tables in word documents!

I have wasted too many moments, days, years believing that being somewhere else or doing something else is better. I want to keep taking hold of all that Jesus has for me right now as well as looking towards what is ahead.

Paul sums it up in Phillipians 3:

12 Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. 13 Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

Lynne is doing some amazing relief work in Sudan and I am doing some amazing stuff in Sheffield. It’s not because we’re amazing. It’s because we’re both pressing on to take hold of what God has for us in the place God has called us to be.

posted by Anna

with permission from Lynne K to use excerpts from our conversation! !

Leave a Reply

