stuck

I feel somewhat “stuck” at the moment. Stuck in a season of changing nappies, crying babies, sleepless nights. And I keep silently asking God the question “When will I be out of this season?”

But I’m really asking the wrong question. 

Because the Lord never wants us to hurry through seasons. He wants us to use each season as an opportunity to draw closer to Him, to lean on Him and not on our own understanding. In this season of lent as I choose to give things up that I might find physical comfort in I am reminded  to lean into Jesus as my source for everything I need.

So really the questions I want to find myself asking are:

 “Lord, what do you want to teach me this season?”

“Lord, how do you want me to look more like you in this season?”

In all honesty there have been times in these last few weeks where I have felt so tired and frustrated that I have wanted to give up on this race. And yet there is always a small flicker within that is easily re-ignited by the truth of his word to me.

And the particular words that have been running through my mind are these from 1 Corinthians 10:13:

13No test or temptation that comes your way is beyond the course of what others have had to face. All you need to remember is that God will never let you down; he’ll never let you be pushed past your limit; he’ll always be there to help you come through it.  (The Message)

And also these words from Proverbs 3:5-6:

 5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart;
      do not depend on your own understanding.
 6 Seek his will in all you do,
      and he will show you which path to take. (New Living Translation)

Both of these passages remind me to trust in God, for he will not take me to a place that will push me past my limit.  If I depend on my own understanding I will instantly sink but when I choose to lift my eyes to Him, seeking His will in what I do he will show me the way forward.

Thank you God that you are faithful, trustworthy, and always present. xxx

2 thoughts on “stuck

  1. Just want to say Rich and Anna, that I have just started reading your blogg and I absolutely love it! I read it on Monday and already it has helped me make some radical decisions and take some steps, keep it up; it’s everyday life showing a Kingdom perpective, that’s just the best! love Jayne

    Like

    • thanks jayne, that is such an encouragement to us especially from such a legendary lady as yourself! hope you are well. lots and lots of love from all us robinsons xxxxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

