the father’s provision

Philippians 4 v 19

“And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.”

I am a father of 3 wonderful children.  All of them want things.  It might be the ‘must haves’ on the TV, a favourite sweet or a toy they see at a friend’s house.

They are children – they have desires and want them gratified NOW.

I see the emotion in their requests and I see the delight when they get new toys.  I also see many of those same toys left in a drawer about 2 weeks later.

I have been reflecting on how I am like my children as I relate to my heavenly father. Pestering Him for the latest must have, telling Him I need it and making it VERY clear I need it now;  a breakthrough, a demonstration of his power, a touch of his spirit, an experience, people to change…….

And when I receive what I ask for I feel closely connected with my Father who provides and, before too long, I have come with the next request. Now there is nothing wrong with bringing your requests to God (Philippians 4v6) but it is the heart behind those requests.

It says in Philippians 4 v 19 – He will meet our needs – I often live as if the scripture says He will meet all our wants – it doesn’t – a ‘want’ is very different from a ‘need’!

If I am honest the desire for the gift, what I don’t yet have, is the driver – not even the gift itself. When we get what we want it brings a momentary satisfaction. As we receive ‘something’ from God it is a momentary connection. As we look for the Father’s provision we need to examine our hearts and our motives.

Do we seek relationship with the giver or the gift itself?

A relationship with the Father helps to build trust – we need to learn to trust our heavenly Father more. We know He is trustworthy but yet still question – will He? can He? does He want to? Is it right?

It may be the right thing at the wrong time – it may be the wrong thing at the right time. There are plenty of things I withhold from Josiah, Esther and Samuel – but ALL for their best interests.

Do we trust that we have a father who gives or withholds with our best interests at heart?

 

Can we begin to walk with our Father the way the apostle Paul did –

“for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.  I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength.” Philippians 4 v 11-13

 

 

 

 

One thought on “the father’s provision

  1. Trust – yes it’s so important and yet we trust our family, our friends, our own flawed judgement, and even virtual strangers more easily than we trust our Creator, and Redeemer. Yes, trust is key! Trust, praise, and thanksgiving ! Thanks for this reminder!

    Like

Leave a Reply

